Charles A. Goldmark Distinguished Service Award

Call for 2023 Nominations

Each year, the Legal Foundation of Washington’s Board of Trustees commemorates the extraordinary contributions of former Board President and attorney, Charles A. Goldmark, who helped establish a more just, equitable legal aid system in Washington State during his lifetime.

The Goldmark Award recognizes the exceptional leadership of an individual, group, or organization in providing, promoting, or advocating for equal justice for Washington’s low-income individuals, families, and communities.

LFW’s Goldmark Award Committee calls for nominations that recognize outstanding contributions made to increase justice for all through the judicial system, public policy arena, and/or community outreach and education. In recognition of the legal aid community’s commitment to race equity as outlined in the 2018-2020 State Plan for the Coordinated Delivery of Civil Legal Aid to Low-Income People, nomination of people and organizations
focusing on race equity work is encouraged.

Award Criteria

  1. The nominee’s work in support of legal aid must fall within the Foundation’s mission of supporting programs and strategies that make our state a fair and just place to live.
  2. The nominee’s efforts should reflect a generosity of spirit and the highest quality work.
  3. The nominee’s contributions to equal access to justice in Washington State must be evident and verifiable.

Nominations must be in writing and may be supported by letters and other documentation. All submitted materials become property of LFW.

Nomination Procedures

  • Complete nomination form by September 2, 2022
  • Gather letters and documents to support the nomination
  • Submit nomination materials electronically to
  • Questions? Call (206) 957-6288

Recent Goldmark Award Recipients

  • 2022 Anne Lee
  • 2021 Lembhard G. Howell
  • 2020 Chief Justice Mary E. Fairhurst (ret.)
  • 2019 Salvador A. Mungia
  • 2018 Washington State Attorney General’s Office and the Northwest Immigrant Rights Project
  • 2017 Lucy Lee Helm and Paula Boggs
  • 2016 J. David Andrews, Mark Hutcheson, Hon. Donald J Horowitz (ret.)
  • 2015 William and Rita Bender
  • 2014 Justice Steven C. González